Decision 2012 – The Match

Although this week is designated as Match Week, I came to realize how different days are significant for different students. For Match participants from on-shore schools, it’s practically a foregone conclusion that one will receive an email of congratulations so the celebrations take part today. For my classmates, myself and thousands of other off-shore medical students and IMGs, Monday was the day of destiny.

I was thrilled to learn that so many of my friends and classmates successfully matched this year. Today is a tad anticlimactic, though it has been exciting to learn where everyone will be headed in July. My own destination isn’t exactly the one I expected but I’m certainly pleased to have matched to an excellent university program (at a beautiful children’s hospital!). It would have been nice to be a little closer to Queens but I’ve never let a little homesickness hold me back.

I’m still a bit in shock from all that has transpired this week but maybe that’s just part of this delirium of happiness I’m experiencing. I’m going to be a pediatrician! What an achievement.

Explore posts in the same categories: residency

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Decision 2012 – The Match”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Congratulations! Many of my friends from Ross matched too. I hope to be in your guys shoe next year.

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Congratulations. So proud and happy!


  3. […] Awesome Things That Happened in 2012 1. I graduated from med school 2. I turned 30 3. I survived the match and was chosen for a pediatric residency 4. I became a homeowner 5. I leased my first car 6. I performed my first lumbar puncture (actually, […]


Leave a Reply

